I’m starting a new blog today. It’s going to be a space where I chat about my working life – what I’ve learned, what I’m still learning, sharing my continuing development, offering my experiences (for what they’re worth) for others to consider, sharing what has worked (and what hasn’t), and generally reflecting on the lessons of a long career, and of everyday leadership moments.

I’ve just finished a fun blog called ‘100 Happy Days’  where I blogged every day for a hundred days about the small things that made me happy. It was very successful  in lots of ways, but one of the most practical benefits was the discipline of reflecting every evening and sharing those reflections. Having developed that daily habit I want to continue it, but with a focus on leadership thoughts. I’m not planning to blog every day, but perhaps once or twice a week as I interpret the useful moments and try to write about them in a way that makes sense for other people working their way through a career.

I started my own career way back in the nineteen seventies when I qualified as a nurse and after nearly thirty years and senior nursing posts in the NHS I made a move into Higher Education where I now have a senior academic management and leadership position. I’ve spent a working lifetime learning and doing. I shall share this initial post with many, many nurses on Twitter and I would love them to get involved in this blog. So Twitter nurses – is there anything you would like me to blog about? Are there any questions you want to ask? Why not send me your suggestions via the ‘comments’ link above and maybe that will be a good way of making sure the blog addresses some the issues that are important to you, as well as it being a reflective space for me.

I hope we talk soon!

 

 

