Tags

If you are interested in the continuing story story of my mum’s dementia care, I’m still blogging about it, but on a separate site here . It was helpful to get those words down on the page, but not appropriate for my ‘professional’ blog pages.  And that started me thinking…

So why isn’t it suitable for my professional blog pages? After all, I don’t keep separate Twitter accounts for personal and professional. I mix the two, and I think it works well, and I’m very comfortable with it. On that particular social media platform it seems okay to show something of myself, to mix professional and personal conversations, to tweet to everyone who might be interested, not just a particular group. But the blog? The personal stuff just didn’t feel right. Too exposing? Too emotional? I’m not sure. I don’t even think it’s the content, I think it might be the context.

The paradox – and the beauty – of Twitter, is that for a platform that is totally open and accessible it feels comfortingly intimate. Once you’ve built up a cadre of regular co-respondents there is a sense of chatting just with them, and a satisfying predictability that whatever you put ‘out there’, someone you’ve come to know will pop up in response. All those random unknowns who may come across your tweets just don’t seem to exist.

The blog, though, that’s very different. More….crafted. Created. Deliberative. The blogs about my mum didn’t fit that – they were too unconscious, too instinctive. Too raw.

I suppose I’m reflecting on where and when to be spontaneous and where to be more restrained, without losing any sense of authenticity. It’s an interesting dialogue with myself as I refine my relationship with social media. I’d be interested in your thoughts, too.

 

