45 years – and counting…

This morning I received confirmation of revalidation from the Nursing and Midwifery Council. I wrote about my previous (and first) revalidation experience on here but things have changed quite a lot since then. I’m retired from paid employment for one thing. I do occasional paid consultancy work, but I do most of my work on a pro bono basis now, and of course, no-one pays me to write articles or to blog or Tweet or try to influence by any means I can. All of which I consider to be legitimate use of my Registration and a contribution to the profession, and indirectly, to care.

I was anxious about revalidation because in the back of my mind was that little niggling thought that what I do now ‘isn’t good enough’ to count. It was surprising how persistent that thought was. I’m a very experienced Registered Nurse with two successful careers in practice and in academia; my advice is sought almost every day both formally and informally; I keep up to date and I keep learning. I’m confident in my knowledge and expertise, in the quality of my advice, in my ability to support development in and of nursing. But – the feeling of not having a ‘proper’ job kept popping into my head and making me anxious about revalidation.

As Confirmer and Reflective discussion partner, I chose someone who also works in a ‘portfolio’ way – some paid work, some self-employment, some voluntary work. This really helped me to think about how my work was meeting the different parts of the Code, and to reassure me that all the different aspects of my work could contribute. There is a great deal of flexibility in the revalidation process and with thought and reflection it’s not difficult to fit in the areas of work that don’t automatically, or superficially, seem legitimate. As previously, I learned a lot through the process, and gained some clearer perspective of the contribution I was/am making. My Confirmer also insisted on seeing all of my documentation and evidence, and they asked for a little more in one area. Very diligent and reassuring. Friendly, but not casual. Exactly as it should be.

After the reflective discussion etc, I went online to complete the process. Within seconds of submission, two emails had popped into my inbox. One to acknowledge submission, and one – oh, horror! – to say I had been selected for verification. The niggly voice came back. Somehow, within seconds, the NMC had decided my submission wasn’t up to scratch! Oh, no! A minute later, all was calm as I actually read the communication. All I needed to do was to send additional information and evidence about two areas of the revalidation process. It was simply a question of providing the information I had been keeping on the online forms over the three years previously, to the NMC. I was able to do that immediately. They also contacted my Confirmer for information. Within a couple of weeks I received an email confirming the verification assessment was successful and that my revalidation for the next period was complete.

Now, I have never met anyone else who has been asked to verify their submission and neither has my Confirmer. Given the self-assessment nature of revalidation, I think it would be quite tempting to try to pull it all together at the last minute. But, when that request for verification comes through, if you haven’t got everything to hand it’s going to be really stressful. I had, as I’m sure everyone does, kept a three year portfolio on-line of all the requirements, using the NMC’s documentation. Whatever they asked for – whether it was a breakdown of hours, evidence of CPD, or reflective accounts and pieces of feedback – I had it all, in writing, done. How else could I have had reflective discussions and a confirmatory meeting? It meant that I could respond to the verification request immediately, by return. No scrabbling around for different elements. I offer this as a cautionary tale – one day, that verification request may drop in to your inbox. Don’t skimp and think it will never happen to you. Not only do you risk your own registration, but that of your Confirmer, too.

I am very pleased that I can continue to call myself a Registered Nurse. I am entitled to use that term for another three years. Whether I call myself Registered Nurse, or Nurse, I’m not deceiving anyone. Some people do – some people use the title Nurse when they are not registered and let people believe that they are. When I think what it takes to become, and remain a Registered Nurse, when that title is improperly used it makes me angry. Which is why I’m part of a campaign to prevent it happening and to protect the title ‘Nurse’ only to those who are Registered Nurses. If you are as proud of your title as I am, you can join the campaign by signing our petition at the link below: ⬇️ and thank you, if you do.

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/587939

So, I’m still a Registered Nurse. I qualified in 1976 and have never lapsed my Registration at any time since. That’s 45 years straight, so far. I’m proud of that.

Leave a comment